top of page

2019 Poetry

six hundred

Ocean,

teach me to take something ugly:

blood bone fat –

and make it beautiful.

I will take your children

and turn them into blood-streaked light.

– except now they will never be able

to sing my own children to sleep

with deep, swirling echoes and

a primal beauty that will inspire belief again

in the creatures of lore.

They said to call it

the right whale as in

right to hunt, because it did not know

to fight for its home

once men deemed the coast ours

with their sweat-slicked harpoons.

never mind its right to live.

I want my daughter to grow up

not with baleen corsets but with

that light in her eyes

as we stood on the beach, silent,

the glistening tail sinking back into the ocean.

Salt in her hair, sand scratching my throat,

as she asked me if the whale would come back.

What would it come back to?

It is not enough to stop hunting –

and leave nets of rope and oil and waste

floating like poison.

Six hundred left –

She has found more seashells in a day

than there are right whales in the world.

But she does not want the seashells.

— Cynthia Lu, 2019

3 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page