top of page

Freshman Quarter 1 Experience





Now that Quarter 1 has ended, we got some feedback from our freshmen on their BHS experience so far.



Q: How is the building different?

A: Compared to Chenery’s dark and gloomy classrooms, the high school is definitely an adjustment. With its large windows and beautiful views, it takes on a bright and glowing quality which never fails to lighten my day - and to distract me during class. One of the main things that hasn’t changed is the packed stairwells; I would go so far as to say they’re worse than Chenery's.


Q: How is the atmosphere different (ex. more freedom, more stress)?

A: The atmosphere of the high school definitely allows for much more freedom. I have my free during F block, which allows me to leave school early on occasion. Other times, I’ll work by the pond and enjoy the scenic view. And on boring days, I’ll work inside; the studious atmosphere of the high school helps me get my work done.


Q: How are your grades?

A: My grades have dropped a little bit. Though they haven't fallen significantly, I’ve noticed that I have to put forth more effort to receive a grade that would be considered normal in middle school. Even though the workload has picked up and the stress has increased, I like the increase in challenge. I enjoy having classes based on level which allows me to be paired up with those I can relate to; this makes group work a lot easier. I know that in future years, this will be even more extreme and I’m excited for that; however, I’m not excited for the uptake in homework the coming years will bring.

Q: What are your favorite subjects and who are your favorite teachers?

A: My favorite teachers throughout the years have always been the most approachable ones. My preference for those teachers has increased dramatically, now that it’s a necessity to go after school on some days. These teachers are not only welcoming, but they give helpful advice, proving their extensive knowledge on the subject. My favorite teacher this year has to be Mr. Reynolds, my English teacher. While I love the subject, a bad teacher can ruin any class. Mr. Reynolds increases my enjoyment of English, while inspiring me to become a better writer.


Q: How long did it take you to get used to it (ex. schedule, finding classes)?

A: It was hard for me to adjust to the new schedule, different lunches, and drop days. I remember at the beginning of the year, I had a screenshot of my schedule as my phone lockscreen for a while. However, I forced myself to stop because it became a problem that I relied on it way too much and could never remember my schedule without checking my phone. Though I am sure that memorizing schedules gets better with time, I occasionally find myself walking into the wrong class.


Q: What is something you’ve never worried about before that you now are?

A: During middle school, I had never thought about what I wanted to do when I was older or what my future would look like at all. Suddenly in high school, there is a stronger message to start thinking and planning early to have the best chances at colleges and other opportunities. There is far more to consider in what to prioritize both in school and outside of school. Though there's still a long way to go from freshman year, it's something that I think about more often and will probably increasingly do as high school continues.


Q: What do you like and dislike about the school?

A: One of the things I like about the school would definitely be the view. The touch of nature adds a little bit of freshness to the day when I am bored during class or worrying about something. The pond is also a great place to spend frees. I enjoy sitting on the benches and watching the birds while talking to friends. Something I dislike about the schools is the many flights of stairs. They can get very crowded and it can be a hassle to walk up the four floors within the short passing periods.

Q: What are you looking forward to in the next quarter?

A: The transition to high school was a jump for me, and Quarter 1 was definitely an adjustment period. I look forward to building more routines and the much-needed fresh start.


Image courtesy of http://patch.com.

114 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page